Symbolic Politics in Post-Soviet Ukraine: Construction of the Legitimizing Narrative


Bereznyakov D.V.,

Cand. Sci (Polit.)Head of Department, Dept. of Public Administration, Siberian Institute of Management – Branch of the Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration. Novosibirsk, Russia, bereznyakov@ngs.ru

Kozlov S.V.,

Cand. Sci (Hist.), Dean, Politics and International Relations Faculty, Siberian Institute of Management – Branch of the Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration. Novosibirsk, Russia, feld@ngs.ru



DOI: 10.17976/jpps/2015.04.05
For citation:

Bereznyakov D.V., Kozlov S.V. Symbolic Politics in Post-Soviet Ukraine: Construction of the Legitimizing Narrative. – Polis. Political Studies. 2015. No. 4. P. 34-45. (In Russ.). https://doi.org/10.17976/jpps/2015.04.05



Abstract

The article analyses certain aspects and results of symbolic politics in post-Soviet Ukraine, which is unfolding in the conditions resulting from the collapse of the state and the erosion of symbolic resources for constructing national identity. The authors believe that one of the factors that contributed to the failure of the Ukrainian version of state construction is the particular format of symbolic politics selected by Ukrainian intellectual and political elites as an actual scenario for constructing Ukrainian national identity. Symbolic politics is viewed in this context as a communicative process of legitimizing political dominance and constructing a collective identity regardless of any particular type of a political regime. This is based on the fact that all political regimes seek to achieve effective political communication, which stabilizes relations of domination over the long term by developing legitimate reception of the social world and diverse rituals whose functional meaning is mass-scale involvement of the population in the reproduction of the symbolic order. This process ultimately involves not only political and intellectual elites, but also various agents of socialization and media-professionals, while social audiences become active recipients of political communication, capable of alternative decoding of the dominant ideological content developed by the elites. The authors stress that the main distinctive aspect of the legitimizing narrative at the core of the formation of the Ukrainian national state is its syncretic character which involves ideological codes of neoliberalism and of the nationalizing state-building with different underlying types of identity. The neoliberal ideological code is based on the opposition between the market and the state and on the model identity of homo economicus, while the ideological narratives invoked to invent a nation focus not on the rational actor and on minimizing the role of the state viewed as inefficient manager, but on the macropolitical identity constructed by a string national state.

Keywords
Ukraine; Russia; neoliberalism; nationalism; symbolic politics; ideology; legitimation.


Content No. 4, 2015

See also:


Mnatzakanyan M.O.,
Nationalism: Ideal Type and Forms of Manifestations. – Polis. Political Studies. 2007. No6

Pain E.A., Prostakov S.A.,
Multi-faceted russian nationalism. Ideological and Political Versions (2010 2014). – Polis. Political Studies. 2014. No4

Lane D.,
Civil society in the countries of the European Union: ideology, institutions and advance of democracy. – Polis. Political Studies. 2012. No2

Vendina O.I., Kolosov V.A., Popov F.A., Sebentzov A.B.,
Ukraine in the political crisis: the image of Russia as catalyst of contradictions. – Polis. Political Studies. 2014. No5

Pakhomov Yu. ,
Ukraine and Russia on the Waves of Globalization (Economic Aspect). – Polis. Political Studies. 1998. No3


Screen version

Символическая политика постсоветской Украины: конструирование легитимирующего нарратива


Березняков Д. В.,

кандидат политических наук, зав. кафедрой государственного и муниципального управления Сибирского института управления – филиала Российской академии народного хозяйства и государственной службы при Президенте РФ, bereznyakov@ngs.ru

Козлов С. В.,

кандидат исторических наук, декан факультета политики и международных отношений Сибирского института управления – филиала Российской академии народного хозяйства и государственной службы при Президенте РФ, feld@ngs.ru



DOI: 10.17976/jpps/2015.04.05
Правильная ссылка на статью:

Березняков Д. В., Козлов С. В. Символическая политика постсоветской Украины: конструирование легитимирующего нарратива. – Полис. Политические исследования. 2015. № 4. С. 34-45. https://doi.org/10.17976/jpps/2015.04.05


Аннотация

В статье проанализированы некоторые особенности и результаты символической политики постсоветской Украины, реализуемой в условиях коллапса государства и эрозии символических ресурсов конструирования национальной идентичности. Авторы полагают, что одним из факторов, обусловивших провал украинской версии государственного строительства, является тот формат символической политики, который украинские интел- лектуальные и политические элиты выбрали в качестве актуального сценария конструирования украинской национальной идентичности. При этом символическая политика рассматривается как коммуникативный механизм легитимации политического господства и конструирования коллективной идентичности безотносительно к типу политического режима. Это объясняется тем фактом, что все политические режимы ориентированы на выработку эффективной политической коммуникации, которая стабилизирует отношения доминирования в долгосрочной перспективе через выработку легитимного восприятия социального мира и многообразные ритуалы, функциональный смысл которых состоит в том, чтобы в массовом масштабе вовлекать население в воспроизводств символического порядка. В этот процесс оказываются вовлеченными не только политические и интеллектуальные элиты, но и разнообразные агенты социализации и медиа-профессионалы, а социальные аудитории выступают как активные адресаты политической коммуникации, способные к альтернативному декодированию контента вырабатываемой элитами доминирующей идеологии. Важнейшей особенностью легитимирующего нарратива, положенного в основу формирования украинского национального государства, подчеркивают авторы, является его синкретический характер, сочетающий в себе идеологические коды неолиберализма и национализирующегося государственного строительства, за которыми стоят различные типы идентичности. Неолиберальный идеологический код основан на противопоставлении рынка государству и модельной идентичности homo economicus. В свою очередь идеологические нарративы, призванные изобретать нацию, ориентируются не на рационального актора и минимизацию роли государства как неэффективного менеджера, а на макрополитическую идентичность, конструируемую сильным национальным государством.

Ключевые слова
Украина; Россия; неолиберализм; национализм; символическая политика; идеология; легитимация..


Содержание номера № 4, 2015

Возможно, Вас заинтересуют:


Мнацаканян М. О.,
Национализм: идеальный тип и формы проявлений. – Полис. Политические исследования. 2007. №6

Паин Э. А., Простаков С. А.,
Многоликий русский национализм. Идейно-политические разновидности (2010-2014 гг.) . – Полис. Политические исследования. 2014. №4

Лейн Д. ,
Гражданское общество в странах ЕС: идеология, институты и продвижение демократии. – Полис. Политические исследования. 2012. №2

Вендина О. И., Колосов В. А., Попов Ф. А., Себенцов А. Б.,
Украина в политическом кризисе: образ России как катализатор противоречий . – Полис. Политические исследования. 2014. №5

Пахомов Ю. ,
Украина и Россия на волнах глобализации (Экономический аспект) . – Полис. Политические исследования. 1998. №3


полная версия страницы