The First Sovietologist among the Russian Emigration:
Semyon Osipovich Portugeys

DOI: 10.17976/jpps/2006.01.10
ID of the Article: 3669

For citation:

Kara-Murza A.A. The First Sovietologist among the Russian Emigration: Semyon Osipovich Portugeys . – Polis. Political Studies. 2006. No 1. P. 122-140 (In Russ.) . DOI:


The article offers analysis of the idea content of the heritage of one of the most interesting thinkers among Russian йmigrйs, who remains to this day hardly known in his native land. On considering and estimating O.S.Portugeys’ ideas of the motive forces of the October revolution, his interpretation of the essence of the Bolshevist regime and of the Bolshevist epoch’s objective-historical substance, the author demonstratively proves that Portugeys may rightfully be regarded as one of the founders of scientific Sovietology.

Content No 1, 2006

See also:

Roshchin Ye.N.,
Quentin Skinner’s History of Notions. – Polis. Political Studies. 2006. No3

Kirk R.,
Burke and the Politics of Prescription (Foreword by M.P.Kizima). – Polis. Political Studies. 2003. No5

Editorial Introduction,
Blessed Augustine and Civitas Terrena. – Polis. Political Studies. 2006. No4

Round Table of the «Polis» Journal, Blyakher L.Ye., Golik N.V., Gutorov V.A., Dakhin A.V., Lantzov S.A., Markov B.V., Mishkinene U.B., Smorgunov L.V., Tugashev E.A.,
In the Search of Politics (Materials of a «Round Table» Discussion in Honour of the H. Arendt Centenary). – Polis. Political Studies. 2007. No3

Moeller van den Bruck A.,
The Third Reich (Introductory article and comments by S.G.Allenov). – Polis. Political Studies. 2003. No5



Introducing an article

Polis. Political Studies
6 2017

Sakwa R.
One Europe or None: Involution and Multipolarity

 The article text


   2019      2018      2017      2016   
   2015      2014      2013      2012      2011   
   2010      2009      2008      2007      2006   
   2005      2004      2003      2002      2001   
   2000      1999      1998      1997      1996   
   1995      1994      1993      1992      1991