The Evolution of Global Politics (II)

The Evolution of Global Politics (II)

DOI: 10.17976/jpps/2005.04.10

For citation:

Modelski G. The Evolution of Global Politics (II) . – Polis. Political Studies. 2005. No. 4. P. 124-142. (In Russ.).


In this second part of his article (for its first part see Polis, 2005, № 3), with the Russian translation of which article we are acquainting the readers, George Modelski, a well-known American researcher, author of a number of scholarly writings in history and theory of global politics, argues in favour of the thesis that long cycles in global politics are more than a mere churning of great states. They inhabit, in the author’s wording, a more expansive universe, that of the construction of the global polity via the stages of preconditions, nucleus, and organization. For the explanation of this process, he employs an evolutionary paradigm that proposes that the leadership succession is an intermediate stage in the evolution of global politics whose next likely major phase will be the gradual absorption of the informal role of global leadership into a network of more formal positions within an emerging global organization of a federalist character.

Content No. 4, 2005

See also:

Weber M.,
Russia's Transition to Pseudoconstitutionalism. – Polis. Political Studies. 2006. No2

Brinkman von A.,
Unauthoritative Laws (To the Psychology of Russian Executive Power) (Foreword by I.L. Belenky). – Polis. Political Studies. 2006. No1

Massing O.,
Domination. – Polis. Political Studies. 1991. No6

Aron R.,
An Essay on Liberties: A Universal and Unique Formula of Liberty Does Not Exist. – Polis. Political Studies. 1996. No1

Bruder W.,
Bureaucracy. – Polis. Political Studies. 1991. No5



Introducing an article

Polis. Political Studies
6 2014

Lukin A.V.
Eurasian integration and the clash of values

 Полный текст


   2024      2023      2022      2021   
   2020      2019      2018      2017      2016   
   2015      2014      2013      2012      2011   
   2010      2009      2008      2007      2006   
   2005      2004      2003      2002      2001   
   2000      1999      1998      1997      1996   
   1995      1994      1993      1992      1991