Russian Conservatism:
a Model of Non-Parliamentary Representation

DOI: 10.17976/jpps/2006.04.17

Rubric: Dossier

For citation:

Kartzov A.S. Russian Conservatism: a Model of Non-Parliamentary Representation . – Polis. Political Studies. 2006. No. 4. P. 159-167. (In Russ.).


An attempt has been made in the article to reconstruct the theoretical model of non-parliamentary representation, worked out by ideologists of Russian conservatism of late 19th to early 20th centuries. According to the author's conclusion, the negative attitude of the forces among those that were forming the right wing of the Russian political line-up, to a prospect of the appearance of a power organ coming, by its type, near to parliament, by no means meant the conservatives' denial of the necessity of central representation at all. On analyzing the system of views of Russian conservatives of late 19th to early 20th centuries, the author demonstrates that the model they opposed to the parliamentary one, was, by its main principles, near to the one that was realized in Russia after 1917.

Content No. 4, 2006

See also:

Farukshin M.Kh.,
Subjects of Federations in the International Relations. – Polis. Political Studies. 1995. No6

Ushakin S.A.,
Speech as Political Action. – Polis. Political Studies. 1995. No5

Novikova G.V.,
The «Strong Strategy» of the Weak (The Terror at the End of the 20th Century). – Polis. Political Studies. 2000. No1

Tarasova N.N.,
New Forms of Production Management. – Polis. Political Studies. 1993. No2

Forms of Political Statements in Election Campaigning. – Polis. Political Studies. 1994. No4



Introducing an article

Polis. Political Studies
6 2010

Mezhuyev B.V.
Prospects of political modernization of Russia

 The article text


   2022      2021   
   2020      2019      2018      2017      2016   
   2015      2014      2013      2012      2011   
   2010      2009      2008      2007      2006   
   2005      2004      2003      2002      2001   
   2000      1999      1998      1997      1996   
   1995      1994      1993      1992      1991