The presence of absence:
ethnicity policy in Russia

Rutland P.,

Professor of Government, Wesleyan University, Middletown, CT,

For citation:

Rutland P. The presence of absence: ethnicity policy in Russia . – Polis. Political Studies. 2011. No. 2. P. 172-189. (In Russ.)


This article looks at Russian national identity through the prism of Western theories of nationalism, and finds that Russia is something of a special case. The Russian Federation does not have a clear and consistent narrative of what is the national identity which unites its citizens. A concept based on ethnic Russian (Russkii) identity could alienate the one in five of the population who are not ethnic Russians. Efforts in the 1990s to create a purely ‘civic’ national identity, based on individual rights, were unsuccessful. The legacy of Soviet times, where loyalty to the state was separate from ethnic identity, continues to shape the Russian state’s approach to the nationality question.


Content No. 2, 2011

See also:

Peregudov S.P.,
The «Russian Question» in the context of ethno-national relations in Russian Federation. – Polis. Political Studies. 2013. No3

Prokhorenko I.L.,
Ethnopolitical Conflict and Politics of Identity in Latin America. – Polis. Political Studies. 2016. No4

Tishkov V.A.,
On principal actors of civilizational dialogue. Cultural and language diversity of modern nations. – Polis. Political Studies. 2012. No5

Drobizheva L.M.,
Russian Identity: Discussions in the Political Space and Dynamics of Mass Consciousness. – Polis. Political Studies. 2018. No5

Troitskaya O.V.,
Right of Nations to Self-Determination: Evolution of Concept and Practices. – Polis. Political Studies. 2015. No6



Introducing an article

Polis. Political Studies
1 2002

Mirsky G.I.
“Political Islam” and Western Society

 The article text (электронная версия)


   2020      2019      2018      2017      2016   
   2015      2014      2013      2012      2011   
   2010      2009      2008      2007      2006   
   2005      2004      2003      2002      2001   
   2000      1999      1998      1997      1996   
   1995      1994      1993      1992      1991