Modernity continues?

Martyanov V.S.,

Cand. Sci. (Pol. Sci.), Associate Professor, Deputy Director, Institute of Philosophy and Law, Russian Academy of Sciences (Ural Branch),

elibrary_id: 223692 | ORCID: |

For citation:

Martyanov V.S. Modernity continues? – Polis. Political Studies. 2012. No. 3. P. 108-122. (In Russ.)


The article considers the problem of historical evolution of the Modernity paradigm from its initial - Eurocentric and national-territorial version towards its global, cosmopolitan version. It is posited that the “unfinished Modernity project”, despite solid postmodernist-styled criticism, remains the basic paradigm for the contemporary society’s self-description and for its legitimating. It is argued that discourses being developed in opposition to Modernity do not possess its universality and legitimacy in the global world. As for the core direction of the Modernity transformation, it is presented as the shift from the existing world economy to emerging values and institutions of the world politics that departures the limits of nation-states losing their legitimacy as foundations of the Late Modernity.

Modern; civil;society; legitimation; transit; Christianity; cosmopolitanism; globalization; postmodernism.

Content No. 3, 2012

See also:

Martyanov V.S.,
The Global Modern, postmaterial values and periphery capitalism in Russia. – Polis. Political Studies. 2014. No1

Martyanov V.S.,
One modernity or «a multitude»?. – Polis. Political Studies. 2010. No6

Martyanov V.S., Fishman L.G.,
Overcoming capitalism: from moral collapse to moral revolution?. – Polis. Political Studies. 2012. No1

Krasin Yu.A.,
The state and the society: shifts in the power field. – Polis. Political Studies. 2013. No5

Beck U.,
Living in and coping with world risk society: the cosmopolitan turn. – Polis. Political Studies. 2012. No5



   2020      2019      2018      2017      2016   
   2015      2014      2013      2012      2011   
   2010      2009      2008      2007      2006   
   2005      2004      2003      2002      2001   
   2000      1999      1998      1997      1996   
   1995      1994      1993      1992      1991